According to Ayurveda, there are three primary forces or biological humors in the body called 'Doshas'. The Doshas bind together the five elements; space, air, fire, water and earth. The tri-doshas are Vata, Pitta and Kapha. In Ayurvedic medicine, the keyword is balance, between body, mind and spirit. Health, therefore, is defined as soundness of body (sharira), mind (manas) and Self or soul (atman). Each of these must be nurtured if the individual, human or animal, is to create health. The goal of Ayurveda is to help each person discover a personal knowledge of living healthy and long.

water & earth

Kapha Criteria

Kapha is responsible for key physiological functions in the body such as lubrication, growth and repair, immunity, mental stability, and fluid balance. It provides moisture to joints and the respiratory system, supports cell and tissue production, bolsters the immune system against infections, maintains emotional resilience and calmness, and regulates blood, lymph, and cerebrospinal fluid.


Vata Criteria

Vata governs various physiological functions such as blood circulation, ensuring nutrient and oxygen delivery; breathing, controlling air movement in lungs and oxygen transfer to bloodstream; digestion, regulating food movement and waste absorption; nervous system function, managing nerve impulses throughout the body; and elimination, overseeing waste removal including urine, feces, and sweat.

fire & water

Pitta Criteria

Pitta governs various physiological functions such as digestion and nutrient absorption in the small intestine, metabolism and energy production, hormonal balance including temperature regulation and menstrual cycle, liver function for detoxification and nutrient processing, and vision associated with the eyes.

“My friend got me hooked on the Dublin dip and the coat conditioner. My boys smell snack worthy and the Dublin dip helps with any knicks, cuts or skin issues.”

- Leanne